Toyota Celica Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to autocross (I've done 3 events in a 98' mustang GT-CAMT) and realized that I need to go to street class if I want to be competitive. The only options I've found to be competitive and on a budget is, either race a Miata in E-street or.... (took me awhile to find this option) a Celica GT has been known to do fairly well in G-street. I'm not a big fan of the miata so the celica seems to be the most likely option. Now from what I've researched the past day is that the Celica GT is the best option for autox as opposed to the GTS because it weighs less, has the same torque, and the gear ratio is better due to having a 5spd rather than the GTS's 6spd. Is there a specific year of GT that I should look for? (I heard 2000 is the best year). Also, since the GT has the 1zz engine, it apparently has issues with the oil pump/pan...?? Is this something that's easy to address? What other issues are there? What else can you tell me about this car in terms of using it as a dedicated autox build?

·
Registered
1 Posts