My two cents on the P0420 code - Toyota Celica Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-05-2014, 09:44 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
(Thread Starter)
Default My two cents on the P0420 code

I'd like to share my experience on the dreaded P0420 Code, Catalyst System Efficiency Below Threshold (Bank 1). I'm by no means an expert so feel free to comment or critique me in any way you feel necessary. My hopes are to help others troubleshoot this code.

In plain English the code means your catalytic converter isn't efficient as it should be. Your car's ECU knows this by comparing the oxygen level before the catalytic converter to the level tof oxygen after the catalytic converter using the two oxygen sensors mounted in the exhaust pipe.

Let's review a second. In a catalytic converter, the catalyst (in the form of platinum and palladium) is coated onto a ceramic honeycomb or ceramic beads that are housed in a muffler-like package attached to the exhaust pipe. The catalyst helps to convert carbon monoxide into carbon dioxide. It converts the hydrocarbons into carbon dioxide and water. It also converts the nitrogen oxides back into nitrogen and oxygen.

So basically the post cat O2 sensor is looking for more oxygen in the exhaust compared to the pre cat O2 sensor to check efficiency of the Cat.

Now keep in mind if you have other codes along with the P0420 there maybe something causing the inefficiency of the Cat. For example, if you're running too rich or too lean this may destroy the Cat, contaminate it or burn it up, so make sure you have fixed all other codes before troubleshooting the P0420.